|The Health Foundation of Greater Indianapolis purchased The Academy, formerly the St. Mary’s Girls Academy, at 429 E. Vermont Street, in 2005. Originally built in 1922 in historic Lockerbie Square, the building housed a girls’ school operated by the Catholic Archdiocese until 1976.|
In addition to locating its own offices in the building, the board of The Health Foundation invested more than $3 million to renovate this historic gem while maintaining the building’s original beauty and historic significance.
While evidence of the former girls’ school abounds, several areas of the building particularly retain their old school charm, including:
• The original Gymnasium’s hardwood floors, raised theatre stage and high ceilings
• One-of-a-kind stained glass windows remain in the former Chapel on the first floor
• Exposed brick and arched ceilings in the Attic are enhanced with skylights and keyed elevator access
If you are interested in leasing space at The Academy or for a tour, contact Michael Patterson at Dunbar Real Estate Services at (317) 381-5200 or email@example.com.